Teaching Cyber Safety with Connect.ed

Part of this weeks learning path tasks is to complete the modules for cyber-safety for students through Connect.ed. This online program allows teachers to up skill their own knowledge to ensure they have the confidence and resources to assist students in learning how to be cyber-safe when using the internet. I have completed all 4 modules and achieved my certificate of completion and it was really interesting to see the simulations on how easily it can turn into online bullying from students peers, it was an eyeopener for me to realize it is not as easy as ‘turning off the computer’ to deal with online bullying. I definitely feel that I would be able to support cyber safety a lot more confidently now.

I met with my mentor teacher today who I will be completing my prac with, and when I asked her if the students had completed cyber safety as part of their learning, and they haven’t. So straight away I was excited that I would be able to teach them about how to be respectful digital citizens and be cybersmart!

 

Leave a comment