Following up from meeting mentor

So it’s been a week since I met with my mentor that I will be completing prac with. And I feel a little bad that I really haven’t progressed to far on developing my lesson plans. I hope you all have an amazing mentor, my mentor was able to send me a copy of the planning (Backwards mapping) that she had completed for the previous Geography unit that was completed 2 terms ago. This has been a huge help to see what they have been learning, and I am a little jealous that we have to put so much information into our lesson plans yet it doesn’t seem that when we are teaching in schools we won’t have to follow such detail. But then again, I understand that it is important for us to complete whole lesson plans as we are learning the ropes and need to understand all aspects of planning an effective curriculum for children’s learning under the Australian Curriculum.

I did find it interesting as well that my mentor sent me the C2C curriculum for Prep Geography to have a look at to get ideas for planning my lesson plans. My mentor did explain that she doesn’t follow the C2C as it is very dry and consists of a lot of mat time learning for the children. After reading it, I did get some ideas which was really helpful but I have to agree that the lessons definitely need jazzing up. Goodluck everyone on your prac!

Leave a comment